MLB Home Run Derby

By  | 

It’s that time of the year again, the MLB All-Star game is just around the corner, and as most of us know that also means that the Home Run Derby is all set to precede the game. Unfortunately for San Diego Padres fans, the lone Padre All-Star, Justin Upton will not be competing in the derby, but audiences should still be in for quite a treat.

Though some big names such as Bryce Harper and Giancarlo Stanton are not participating this year, newcomers Joc Pederson and Kris Bryant are making their Home Run Derby debuts along with some Home Run Derby returners such as Prince Fielder and Albert Pujols.  Audiences should be in for quite the slugfest this year as these All-Stars go head-to-head, but current derby aside, let’s take a look at some fun facts of the Home Run Derby history.

The last time the Padres had a player in the Home Run Derby was in 1992 when they had two players in the derby, Fred McGriff and Gary Sheffield.

In Home Run Derby history, only twice has the derby champion gone on to be the All-Star game MVP. It first happened in 1991 when Cal Ripken took home the championship before leading the American League to a victory the following day.

The second time was in 2003 when Garret Anderson was able to pull it off. Ironically enough, Anderson was able to defeat current Angel and derby contestant Albert Pujols.

In a six year span(94-99) Ken Griffey Jr. Won the derby three times.

In 1995 the MLB changed the format of the Home Run Derby to include a Semi-Finals round and a Finals round and since that time seven players who have hit the most home runs of the derby did not win the championship.

I guess we will have to watch and see if any Home Run Derby fun facts are made tonight.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *