Nominees Announced for 21st Annual San Diego Music Awards

By  | 

The nominees for the 21st annual San Diego Music Awards have been released, with favorites Switchfoot, Slightly Stoopid and Jason Mraz gracing the ballot yet again.

Voting has already begun and will continue until 5 p.m. on Monday, July 25. Ballots will only be available online and can be accessed here.

Both San Diegans and non-residents can cast votes in 23 of the 27 categories. The remaining categories, including Best New Artist, Album of the Year, Artist of the Year and Song of the Year, will be voted on by members of the San Diego Music Academy. These members include musically esteemed individuals such as Andrew Rowley from 91X, Eric Page from and Tim Mays from The Casbah. Representatives from other local clubs and radio stations are also included.

The artist with the most nominations this year is Dynamite Walls, with four nominations for Album of the Year, Song of the Year, Best Pop and Best Pop Album. The group will also be performing the night of the ceremony. Other live performers will be Cuckoo Chaos, Little Hurricane, Gilbert Castellanos and The Silent Comedy.

The 21st annual San Diego Music Awards will take place on Monday, August 8th at 7 p.m. at Humphrey’s by the Bay, where the winners will be announced and punk-rock band The Penetrators will receive a very special Lifetime Award presentation.

Tickets are $30 for advanced general admission and $50 for each reserved table and can be purchased here.

Below are the nominees for a few select categories.

Artist of the Year



Jason Mraz

Slightly Stoopid


The Silent Comedy



Album of the Year

Augustana – “Augustana”

Crocodiles – “Sleep Forever”

Dynamite Walls – “Chemical”

Little Hurricane – “Homewrecker”

Switchfoot – “Easter Hymns”

The Donkeys – “Born With Stripes”

Unwritten Law – “Swan”

Vokab Kompany – “Quit Sleep”

Song of the Year

Augustana – “Steal Your Heart

Crocodiles – “Mirrors

Dynamite Walls – “Keep Spinning Around”

Little Hurricane – “Haunted Heart”

Switchfoot – “The Sound”

The Soft Pack – “Answer to Yourself”

Transfer – “Losing Composure”

Unwritten Law – “Starships and Apocalypse”

Best New Artist

Chairs Missing

Cry For Us Black Swans

Low Volts

Sister Speak

Stevie & the Hi-Stax

The Groove Kitties

The Tilt

TV Girl

Best Pop Album

Christopher Dale – “Songs I Know By Heart”

Dynamite Walls – “Chemicals”

Echo Revolution – “Counterfeit Sunshine”

Gayle Skidmore – “Make Believe”

Golden Red – “Golden Red”

Lights On – “Here Comes the Ocean”

Maren Parusel – “Artificial Gardens”

The Very – “The Discovery”

Best Rock Album

Astra Kelly – “Time Bomb”

Black Hondo – “Black Hondo”

Rafter – “Quiet Storm”

Rat City Riot – “Better Than Nothing”

Someday Assassin – “Plague of Babies”

The Donkeys – “Born with Stripes”

The Nervous Wreckords – “Valuminium”

The Secret Seven – “Turn Your Back to the Sea”

Best Alternative Album

D/Wolves – “Freak of Nature”

Heavy Hawaii – “HH”

Hyena – “We See You”

Little Hurricane – “Homewrecker”

New Mexico – “Have You Met My Friend?”

Republic of Letters – “Stories”

Spero Lumina – “Stained Glass Maze”

The Heavy Guilt – “In The Blood”

Best Hard Rock Album

Downspell – “The Violent Majority”

My Elysian – “My Elysian”

Pathology – “Legacy Of The Ancients”

Silence Betrayed –” Fault Lines”

Symbolic – “Nevertime”

Taz Taylor – “Big Dumb Rock”

The New Regime – “Speak Through The White Noise”

Under the Stone – “Under The Stone”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *