Gluten Free Foods – Are You Going Gluten-Free?

By  | 

Today many are going gluten-free whether for health reasons, weight loss or keeping up with the new trend. Madonna has recently announced a gluten-free diet serving a gluten-free food – the brownies version – at her 52nd birthday party last year and  Oprah and Gwyneth Paltrow have reportedly taken gluten out of their diets to “detox.”

CNN Health reports the story of a 20-something career mom from Australia named Sarah Cooper who, all of the sudden, found herself getting tired, developing acne and facing stomach problems.  After years of unsuccessful treatments, Cooper found a doctor who suspected celiac disease, a autoimmune issue that is caused by an allergy to gluten and can appear at any stage of life.

Although Cooper’s celiac disease test came back negative, she was advised to try a gluten-free diet anyway and within just on week, she noticed a positive difference.

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye that damages the intestines and prevents vitamin and mineral absorption in those with celiac disease which can create a snowball of health problems.

The industry for gluten-free goods is expanding and’s website reports that Packaged Facts, a research firm, “calculates that U.S. retail sales of gluten-free products rose from just under 1 billion dollars in 2006 to $2.3-billion dollars in 2010” and by 2012 the market sales are estimated to reach $2.6 billion, doubling again by 2015.

Recently Olive Garden, among other chain restaurants, now offer a gluten-free menu and General Mills, the cereal company, claims to offer 250 gluten-free goods, including Chex, Betty Crocker and Bisquick brand names.  General Mills has also acquired the Larabar brand and wants to expand that gluten-free nutrition bar line.

Although local grocery chains offer some gluten-free products, Trader Joes and Whole Foods will carry the whole gamut.

Some foods that are safe to eat on the gluten-free diet are listed here from a article:

  • Agave
  • Alcohol (Spirits – Specific Types)
  • Alfalfa
  • Amaranth
  • Apple Cider Vinegar
  • Artichokes
  • Baking soda
  • Balsamic Vinegar
  • Beans
  • Blue Cheese
  • Brown Sugar
  • Buckwheat
  • Butter (check additives)
  • Cane Sugar
  • Canola Oil (Rapeseed Oil)
  • Carbonated Water
  • Carob Bean
  • Cheeses – (most, but check ingredients)
  • Chestnuts
  • Chickpea
  • Chocolate Liquor
  • Cocoa
  • Coconut
  • Corn
  • Corn Syrup
  • Dates
  • Distilled White Vinegar
  • Eggs
  • Fish (fresh)
  • Flax
  • Grits, Corn
  • Hemp
  • Herbs
  • Honey
  • Hops
  • Horseradish (Pure)
  • Isolated Soy Protein
  • Lentils
  • Licorice
  • Maize
  • Masa Flour
  • Meat (fresh)
  • Milk
  • Millet
  • Non-fat Milk
  • Nuts (except wheat, rye & barley)
  • Oats
  • Oils and Fats
  • Paprika
  • Peas
  • Peanuts
  • Peppermint Oil
  • Peppers
  • Potatoes
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Salt
  • Seaweed
  • Seeds (except wheat, rye & barley)
  • Soy
  • Stevia
  • Tea
  • Tofu (Soy Curd)
  • Vinegar (All except Malt)
  • Vanilla Extract
  • Whey
  • Yeast
  • Yogurt (plain, unflavored)


  1. Avatar


    April 13, 2011 at 8:13 am

    Thanks a lot for sharing this info from the CNN article. It is amazing to see how much has been learned in just the last few years, especially recognizing gluten intolerance as distinctly different from celiac disease.

    You rightly point out that Olive Garden recently realized the importance (and value) of catering to the needs of gluten-free diners. This being said, it is quite difficult for large chains to really educate their ever-changing staff on celiac disease and gluten intolerance. Often times a gluten-free menu is “forced” on every individual restaurant by corporate, and individua managers don’t know what to do with this. Cross-contamination plays a very important role in this context!

    I wish you had pointed out restaurants such as PF Chang’s who have been at the forefront of catering to the needs of the gluten-free community and ensure that all waiting staff knows what celiac disease is. Their kitchen operations are a role model for any gluten-free restaurant.

  2. Avatar

    April 14, 2011 at 1:44 pm

    That is a good gluten free food list.
    Here you can find some of the best tasting gluten free foods from we have been serving the gluten free community for over 12 years and to show our appreciation here is a sale on Snyders Gluten Free pretzels! Yum.

    Snyder’s sale extended due to popular demand !—special-199.html

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *