Oberst, James, Ward and Mogis to launch supergroup debut

By  | 

MONSTERS-OF-FOLKApart, they are each worthy of folk/rock/Americana accolades unto themselves but by their powers combined, they are Monsters of Folk.  Conor Oberst (Bright Eyes), Jim James (My Morning Jacket), M. Ward and Mike Mogis (Bright Eyes and Saddle Creek affiliate) have been sharing stages together for the past couple of years to great effect (the guitar noodling traded onstage by Ward and James during My Morning Jacket’s 2007’s Coachella Mainstage act alone was one for the books), so the possibility–and plausible overall-awesomeness–of an official supergroup forming was not one lost on fans. But now our wildest dreams have come to fruition as the foursome worthy of the label supergroup will debut a self-titled album to the public September 22nd on Shangri-La. There’s a tracklist available, but little information besides that. For now, I’ll allow my vivid imagination to do the rest.

Monsters of Folk tracklisting:

  • Dear God (sincerely M.O.F.)
  • Say Please
  • Whole Lotta Losin’
  • Temazcal
  • The Right Place
  • Baby Boomer
  • Man Named Truth
  • Goodway
  • Ahead of the Curve
  • Slow Down Jo
  • Losin’ Yo Head
  • Magic Marker
  • Map of the World
  • The Sandman, the Brakeman and Me
  • His Master’s Voice

Born in PB, raised in PQ, thrived on The Beatles.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *